mme_hardy: White rose (Default)
George R.R. Martin has issued a statement on File 770.

For those of you out of the convention fandom loop (and I listen but do not congo), for a decade or so GRRM has thrown the "Hugo Losers Party", at which winners are welcome to attend but have to wear funny hats and be mocked. For a couple of years those parties became the responsibility of the Worldcon where they were held; GRRM took them back. This year's party was a logistics disaster. People who couldn't get into the Hugo Awards (another logistics problem) went directly to the Hugo Losers Party. That meant that when the actual losers had finished with the awards, the party was full up. People were dropped off by minibus in front of the venue and left to wait until space was freed up by people leaving. There were tweets. There was anger.

I linked to GRRM's statement of what happened. The mood of the piece is that the Hugo Losers Party is a gift he gives congoers, not an entitlement. That's completely reasonable and appropriate. Renting out a floor of a brewery for a party is an extravagant thing to do.

However, wow, were there bad logistics choices made. GRRM rented a venue with a capacity of 450; there were worries that the venue might be too small. The contingency plan was the expectation that the venue would violate the fire code (if there were still a marquee tag, I'd be using it) or allow the party to overflow into space they hadn't rented. Even if he'd offered cash to expand it on the night, it would have been much too late to staff that space.

GRRM was at least annoyed by the discovery that there would be 280 spots reserved for the Hugo losers and their plus-ones. "280 spots of out 450 were already gone, before I had even invited a single guest of my own. " Here's the core problem. GRRM doesn't see the losers as guests of his own. This isn't actually the Hugo Losers' party, and that's just fine; GRRM can throw any party he likes. But being annoyed that the Hugo losers expect to go is dooming yourself to disappointment. This realization would also have been a great moment to reevaluate the amount of space being rented. However, as he amply documents, even GRRM couldn't have afforded to rent another floor, with liquor and the food required by Irish law.

GRRM arranged for a single minibus seating twenty to bring people from the convention center to the party. He appears to have thought of this as a way to slowly integrate new partygoers. Instead, it meant long lines at the buses. He is annoyed that ConZealand decided that there wouldn't be enough taxi space to accommodate all the partygoers, and rented two bus-sized buses to transport partygoers to the party. There went GRRM's only attempt at crowd control.

> They were obeying what we were told was the law.

"What we were told"? I mean, come on, this is basic basic big-party planning that GRRM's team should have figured out months in advance. Fire codes are a thing in every venue everywhere, and when they aren't, people die.

> But much of the outrage about what happened seems to have its root in a mistaken belief that this was their party, intended to “honor” or “celebrate” them, that it was being staged “for” them, that they should have been given preference over everyone else, an assertion that just reeks of entitlement.

GRRM doesn't want to throw the Hugo Losers party. That's fine. But everybody should stop calling GRMM's party by its original name.
mme_hardy: White rose (Default)
See here if you want details. (Why do you want details?), and God have mercy on your soul.

Here is what I know as a 60-year-old person.

I have been involved in knitting communities, SF communities, communities for individual fandoms, communities for broad categories such as "SFF" and "comics", communities for historic costume.

As an insider, they all look alike. There are people who want to welcome you and help you squee. There are people who want to judge you and see if you are worthy of being in the community. There are people who want to help you get better at being in the community.

As a polyamorous fan (thanks, Shrift and Nestra), the patterns look the same. There are people who want to be intense. There are people who want to benefit from the people who are intense. There are people who just want to hang out. There are people who want to make new stuff.

From my perspective as a person who gets intense, then dips out, they look pretty much the same. I am profoundly grateful for the people who share information. I tiptoe quietly away from the gatekeepers. And I squee with the people who just want to squee.

Fandom is the sea I float on. And I am grateful for all the other people who uplift me.
mme_hardy: White rose (Default)
I got reminded on Thursday evening that I was overdue for a fic exchange and answered blankly that I hadn't signed up for it.

Turned out I had. Thanks, Lyrica!! I promised the fic for Saturday, cobbled together a start Friday, padded it out and polished the next day, and put that puppy up on AO3, supported by lots of handholding and beta from [personal profile] othercat . This fic was not so much finished as abandoned (h/t Marianne Moore).

It currently has 125 hits and 20 kudos. I have never had a ratio this good on a fic so early in its life. Stuff I have slaved over, admiring every line, has gone down into the darkness, but this little throwaway has found love. It's in a juggernaut fandom, Homestuck, but I've written Homestuck fics before.

Everybody always says that how excited you are about a piece of writing and how excited the audience is don't necessarily correlate, but I hadn't seen it in action quite so forcefully. Need to remember this going forward.

Because otherwise people will ask in the comments, I'm linking.

round and round and round in the circle game Homestuck, John/Roxy, John/Terezi, fluff.
mme_hardy: White rose (Default)
Your main fandom of the year?

I think still Homestuck. Nothing else has caught fire with me.

Your favorite film watched this year?


The Last Jedi, but I haven't gotten to see The Shape of Water or Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri yet. I do love Martin McDonagh. If you haven't seen Seven Psychopaths, do, but don't let anybody talk to you about it first.  Black, black comedy, and shocking and hilarious.  (He's the In Bruges dude.  Seven Psychopaths is better.)  Hail, Caesar! also made me very happy.

Your favorite book read this year?

I have not been reading much, thanks to lack of attention span. The one that made me happiest was Spellslinger, by Sebastien de Castell. (Sorry, [personal profile] oursin !)

Your favorite album or song to listen to this year?

I have listened to "This Year" by the Mountain Goats so much that my speakers are rebelling. I'm gonna make it through this year if it kills me.

Your favorite TV show of the year?


Only Connect. Only Connect is an amazing British quiz show where they show you a set of words or phrases or things and you have to think out the reason they're connected. It's challenging, and you feel so proud of yourself when you figure one out. It's hosted by the glorious Victoria Coren-Mitchell, and it's always up on YouTube within a day or two.

Your best new fandom discovery of the year?

The Adventure Zone. Oh, my God. So funny, and so wise, and so humane. (The latter two kick in later, as the brothers and father find their groove.)

Your biggest fandom disappointment of the year?

I don't remember one?  I mean, Homestuck fandom is Homestuck fandom, for better or for worse.   The Hiveswap game was charming and fun.

Your fandom boyfriend of the year?

Can I count Griffin McElroy?

Your fandom girlfriend of the year?

Sydnee McElroy. I wish she were my doctor.

Your biggest squee moment of the year?

Barry Bluejeans. 

The most missed of your old fandoms?

Buffy. I don't even look for fic nowadays, but it made me so, so happy in the oughties.

The fandom you haven't tried yet, but want to?


Dark Sails ought to be right up my alley, but I need to make time.  I don't really watch video during the daytime.  Black Sails would be much better for me than Twitter.

Your biggest fan anticipations for the coming year?

Same as [personal profile] rachelmanija : Black Panther, A Wrinkle In Time. For myself, I'd add Ocean's 8 and Annihilation.   I'll also be happy to see the latest Michelle Sagara novel, whenever it hits.
mme_hardy: White rose (Default)
 Dear Yuletide Writer,
 
Thank you.  I'm excited to find out what you decide to write.
 
I like adventure and romance.  I love the trappings of the turn-of-the-century historical novel:  masquerades, swordfights, balls, people disguised as one another, fans, dance cards, poisoned books.... you get the idea.  I also love the tropes of pulp fantasy novels, although they're tricky to do in the modern era.  I love reading social history, and tiny worldbuilding hints make me squee.   I am perfectly happy with the usual fandom dub-con conventions like sex pollen, forced marriage, heat, and so on, as long as they're founded on  "we always secretly wanted each other anyway".    I love humor and wit (not always the same thing). Character death is fine, porn is fine, gen is fine.    My hard squicks are embarrassment humor, detailed descriptions of gore, and excreta.  Other than that, I'll read just about anything once.    
 
Overall, I think Yuletide is a time for surprises.  Surprise yourself.  Surprise me.  Do something you enjoy doing (with the few exceptions noted above), and we'll both be happy.    As ever, optional details are optional.
 
Here are the fandoms I'm requesting this year. 
 
Zenda Novels - Anthony Hope [Hawkins]
Rupert of Hentzau
 
I request this every year; it hits all my favorite romantic historical tropes, because it created many of them.
 
Ah, Rupert of Hentzau. Dashing, handsome, competent, witty, and stuck with the Worst Boss Ever. Seriously, Black Michael couldn't plot his way into overthrowing a paper bag. (Why imprison King Rudolf? Why not just kill him? Rupert would have.) I am well aware that Rupert is Not A Nice Guy; he isn't just the hero's foil, but he is ruthless and threatens to commit rape on at least one occasion. However, let's face it, Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. diving through a window is one of the great moments in film.
 
Some ideas that may or may not work for you: Rupert/Rassendyll -- you never know where a corps-a-corps might lead; Antoinette de Mauban -- who is not a wimp -- going up against Rupert earlier in the plot and winning; Colonel Sapt confronting and then cashiering a young Rupert earlier in their careers. Do not feel constrained: these are plot bunnies and I bet yours are better. Feel free to use the entire "Prisoner of Zenda" pseudo-canon: the books, as well as any movie based on the Zenda plot including The Great Race. if you've read Rupert of Hentzau, go for it, but don't feel obliged to seek it out for this challenge. Bring in any supporting characters that work for you, but please make the fic Rupert-licious.

The Prisoner of Zenda (Gutenberg)
Rupert of Hentzau (Gutenberg)
 
Rupert! Hardy! Always! 
 
The Hour (BBC series)
Randall Brown, Lix Storm
 
Oh, my poor, tragic, doomed lovers.   Anna Chancellor and Peter Capaldi convey a tragic past with flicks of their eyes, stiffened spines, and one unbearably romantic handclasp.   They're definitely the C plot of Season 2, but they're my favorites nonetheless.  Randall with his gnomic speech and his physical stillness, Lix with her sweeping gestures, her Scotch, her tailored trousers, and her exuberant metaphors.   Both of them intensely private, but once, in a land far away, those privacies touched.   Their dialogue together is a wonder,  with most of the communication implied, not explicit.
 
I will love whatever you have to say about Randall and Lix.  Backstory in Spain, futures in ... wherever, more detail about their interactions in Season 2.   The one thing I would prefer to avoid is fix-it fic for the baby: that baby, and its fate, are the keystone of the in-show relationship.   In any case, I don't see Lix being a contented mother; she's wedded to her career.
 
Peter Capaldi's Eyebrows Anthropomorfic
Peter Capaldi's Left Eyebrow, Peter Capaldi's Right Eyebrow
 
Peter Capaldi's eyebrows have always been a noticeable feature of his face. Mr. Capaldi's eyebrows show up in reviews fairly frequently; the current Doctor Who scripts frequently make fun of them.     He has a very mobile face, and unlike certain Time Lords we could mention (coughSmithcough) his eyebrows are a dominant feature.    
 
But what do the eyebrows themselves think of all this?   Do they secretly believe that their best role was in The Devil's Whore?  Or Chandler & Co?  Or that beer commercial?   Does the left eyebrow resent that the right eyebrow usually gets the Rembrandt lighting?  (or vice versa).   Are the eyebrows secretly in love, and hoping for parts where Capaldi scowls so hard that they actually, fleetingly touch? Do the eyebrows long for a day when they hatch into their adult form, whatever that may be, and fly away together?  Or maybe there's a serious plot in there.  (Very maybe, frankly.  I'll be pleasantly shocked if you manage it.)
 
What I want most for this request is for both of us to have fun.  I trust you.  Go wild.  
 
A very happy Yuletide to you.
 

Profile

mme_hardy: White rose (Default)
mme_hardy

December 2022

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

  • Style: Indil for Ciel by nornoriel

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:32 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios